DWI First Offense
In the state of Texas, a DWI one arrest is a Class B Misdemeanor and can result in 30 days of jail time and a maximum fine of $2,000. The state of Texas is very serious when it comes to drinking and driving such that every other state in the United States labels the charge as Driving Under the Influence, however Texas calls it Driving While Intoxicated. A lot of legislation has built the foundation for the severity of a DWI arrest. In order to be arrested for Driving While Intoxicated, both of the following must occur in a motorized vehicle:
- “lack the normal use of mental or physical faculties” due to the consumption of alcohol
- blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08% or above
Whether you are guilty or not, prior to any court hearing, you can endure many harsh consequences from a DWI arrest. The state of Texas calls these Administration Penalties, and they begin to occur immediately after your initial arrest.
The moment after your first DWI offense arrest, The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will start imposing harsh administration penalties. Refusal of a breathalyzer or blood test will result in the immediate suspension of your license by the DPS for 180 days. After the arrest, the officer will give you a “Notice of Suspension” which will act as a temporary driver’s license. You will have 15 days to request a special hearing to contest the suspension of your license. Zac Morris is committed to helping you with this hearing and helping you secure your license. However, if you do not request the hearing, or do not show up, your license will remain suspended for 90 days. First time offenders can apply for an “occupational license” which allows you to continue to drive but with restrictions only allowing transportation to and from work or school.
As stated above, the criminal charges for a DWI first offense is typically a Class B Misdemeanor, but if your blood alcohol level (BAC) is above 0.15% the charge will move higher to a Class A Misdemeanor. Convictions can cost from $2,000 to $4,000 depending on the Class. A DWI arrest can also result in a jail sentence of 30 days or even more depending on your BAC. In addition to the possibility of jail time and state fines, you will be required to do community service, complete a DWI education program, and probation. Probation can last up to 1 year or longer after a conviction. And if that’s not enough, you may also be required to install a breathalyzer in your vehicle, and pay hefty fines every month to get it recalibrated. The fines usually range from $60-100 depending on the location.
Professional Legal Representation
After reading all of this, it is pretty clear that a DWI first offense case is a scary one. Zac Morris is committed to being with you every step of the way to ensure that you are not alone during this lengthy process. A DWI one conviction will cost you thousands of dollars in fees, as well as countless hours having to deal with the state of Texas and maintenance of your driver’s license. Don’t let this overwhelm you regardless if you are guilty or not, Zac Morris is here to assist you and fight for your justice. Zac has handled cases all throughout Central Texas including Lampasas, Killeen, Temple, Belton, Gatesville, Copperas Cove, Georgetown (Williamson County), Goldthwaite, and Burnet. Call Zac now for an experienced and skilled criminal defense attorney in Central Texas.